Micronesia is a small region within Oceania that consists of several thousand small islands in the Western Pacific Ocean. Several different sovereign nations come together to create a unique political identity.

There are five independent nations and three territories of the United States under the current alignment.

Four primary island groups form Micronesia. There are the Caroline Islands, the Gilberts, the Mariana Islands, and the Marshall Islands. There is also the small island nation of Nauru. Many of these nations are widely scattered across the water, sometimes made up of several hundred small coral islands.

What you will find in Micronesia is weather that is consistently warm, beaches that lead to turquoise waters, and chances to encounter marine life that are abundant. You can dive to see sharks swimming in and out of the coral reefs. Spinner dolphins have multiple pods in the region. There are designated areas for swimming, wading, and more. It’s the perfect chance to enjoy some sunshine, a cool drink, and perhaps a slight tropical breeze.

You will also find that the islands of Micronesia are often filled with song and dance. The music in the region is sometimes based around ancient rituals and myths of each island culture. Many of these traditional songs are handed down through each generation, creating a uniquely fun atmosphere for visitors who get to participate in these celebrations.

There is a spirit of independence in Micronesia that encourages each visitor to walk their own journey. Are you ready to discover where the next steps will lead?

Below you find a list of countries belonging to the region known as Micronesia.

Micronesia A - Z